The Children's Hour - Iowa State University Theatre

By Lillian Hellman

“Gossip needn't be false to be evil--there's a lot of truth that shouldn't be passed around.”--Frank A. Clark

One of the students in an all-girls boarding school is disobedient, untruthful, and ultimately runs away from the school. To avoid being sent back by her family, she tells her grandmother that the two head mistresses of the school are having a lesbian affair. Is it all a lie? Does what she says contain even a kernel of truth? Either way the story damages several lives and destroys the school. This play was first produced in 1934 and was based on a true story.

November 3, 4, 10, and 11 at 7:30 p.m.; November 5 and 12 at 2 p.m. – Fisher Theater, Ames

Adults $18, seniors $16, students $11. Season tickets on sale beginning August 28, single tickets available beginning September 11 in person from the Iowa State Center Ticket Office located in Stephens Auditorium and online at TicketMaster. Tickets are also available at the door.


Karen - Taylor Millar

Martha - Angelica Elkema

Dr. Joseph Cardin - Aidan McSperrin

Miss Tilford - Alexandra Rundle

Lilly Mortar - Bridget Ann Johnston

Agatha - Sarah Etheridge

Mary - Libby Peterson

Rosalie - Ashley M. Diaz

Peggy - Logan Benson

Evelyn - Abby Luchsinger

Janet - Caroline Orlin

Catherine - Sydni Lapsley

Helen - Olympia Manning

Lois - Morgan Mulford

Grocery Boy - Sam Rude

The KCACTF Irene Ryan nominees for The Children's Hour are Angelica Elkema and Taylor Millar. Congratulations!

Creative Team

Director - Brad Dell

Assistant Director - Erica Walling

Scenic Designer - Merideth Raine

Costume Designer - Allison Kirstukas

Guest Lighting Designer - Amanda Mayfield

Sound Designer - Jim Trenberth

Props Designer - Rebel Clodi

Dramaturg - Olivia Griffith

Light Board - Paige Seward

Sound Board - Elijah Green

Shift Captain - Wesley Tener

Wardrobe - Grace Ekema, Olivia Griffith, Nicole Hampshire, Sarah Henrich

Stagehands - Baraa Dalati, Amanda Gray, Catherine Thom

Technical Director - Natalie Hining

Scene Shop Assistants - Nolan Clemons, Simon Duster, Mitchell Finger, Tyler Tomaszkiewicz, Joseph Ulven

Charge Artist - Sarah R. Bennett

Lighting Assistants - Caleb Davidson, Jared Rickard, Davis Vande Steeg

Props Assistants - Merideth Raine, Amy Taylor

Costume Shop Supervisor - Doris Nash

Costume Shop Assistants - Erin Connor, Christine Henke-Stoneberger, Sarah Henrich, Lydia Loya, Carolyn Schar

Stage Manager - Lindsay Koehler

Assistant Stage Manager - Lena Menefee-Cook

Secretary - Liese VanderBroek

Photography - Nancy Thompson and James Tener

Poster Design - Mary Bendgen

Internet Site Coordinator - Liese VanderBroek


Read about it in Inside Iowa State, The Ames Tribune, and the Iowa State Daily!

Publicity photos and production photos by James Tener and Nancy Thompson